I am the Energizer Bunny®!

24 Jul

Today, I am nominating myself to be the Energizer Bunny®. 21.2 miles today and I started the day with a big blister on each foot, some tenderness in my left foot, and a pulled muscle in my right thigh. At Pit 2  I got my thigh wrapped with an Ace bandage which helped a lot. The med crew told me that I need to pay careful attention to the tenderness in my foot because if I overwork it I could give myself a stress fracture. So I walked alone today, paying close attention to how I was feeling, stopping to stretch whenever I needed to, and taking my shoes off at every Pit. Even with the new pains, today’s walk went MUCH better than yesterday’s did.

Day 2 is usually the hardest of the 3 days because it’s the longest walk and you’re already tired from Day 1. The first 5 miles today were the worst of the 21, and after I worked out my soreness from yesterday I was good to go. I hope you’ve all been enjoying my tweets along the way. I’m still using my Energizer® Energi-To-Go portable charger every time I turn my phone on at a Pit. My phone would be dead at 1pm if I didn’t have it. I highly recommend getting one if you use your phone a lot or travel often, and you can win one here!

We had some REALLY great cheering stations today. I walked through what I think had to have been the longest cheering station I’ve ever seen. It just kept going and going and literally brought me to tears thinking about the number of people that this walk affects. Every time I think about the money that this event raises, and how many people who see us walk that maybe gets involved in some way, I tear up. It’s overwhelming to be thanked over and over for walking and raising money, because the Thank You’s are so sincere, and they’re sincere because it’s personal. The support is amazing.

And tonight, Candy Coburn performed for us! It was SO cool!! She sang a bunch of her songs, and a Janice Joplin song, and of course she sang “Pink Warrior”!! She’s super cool and down to earth and came out into the crowd and had members of the audience finish lyrics of popular classic rock songs. She’s currently in the 3-Day Shop taking pictures with and signing CD’s for walkers. It was AWESOME! Check out the video I took of  “Pink Warrior”!

I’m really excited for tomorrow’s walk; there’s an energy among all of the walkers knowing that the finish line gets closer and closer with every step. If you’re in the Boston area tomorrow and are looking for something to do after the walk, there’s an unofficial post-race party at The Lansdowne Pub from 6-9pm. There will be over $8,800 in raffle prizes, a live performance by B-Suite Band and a special performance by The Boston Babydolls!

I hope that if you’re in the Boston area tomorrow, that you’ll come and cheer us on or check out Closing Ceremony! Here are the cheering stations:

7:30 a.m. – 10:15 a.m.
Shaw’s Supermarket
699 Mount Auburn St.
Cambridge, MA 02138

8:15 a.m. – 10:45 a.m.
Cambridge City Hall
795 Massachusetts Avenue
Cambridge, MA 02139

9:15 a.m. – 1:00 p.m.
Boston Public Garden
(between Paul Revere and Swan Boats)
Commonwealth & Arlington Street
Boston, MA 02127

And Closing Ceremony is at the University of Massachusetts in Dorcester. Here we go, Day 3!!

7 Responses to “I am the Energizer Bunny®!”

  1. Tired Mom Tésa July 24, 2010 at 6:47 PM #

    Way to Keep Going! It sounds like it was a tough but inspiring day. I hope you are feeling better tomorrow and able to enjoy every minute of the last day of the walk.

  2. Tammy Klueger July 24, 2010 at 8:32 PM #

    Thank you so much for keeping us updated each day! Good luck on Day 3 and can’t wait to read about closing ceremony.

  3. Laurie July 24, 2010 at 8:50 PM #

    I am sorry you were hurting today, but so glad you pushed through. The cheering stations are amazing, huh? My BFF and teammate cried our way through several ourselves during our last walk. Those people are the reason we kept going. Knowing we had friends and loved ones waiting for us really motivated us. Hope you are getting some rest and have a great 3rd day tomorrow!

  4. Cat July 24, 2010 at 10:24 PM #

    Sounds like you are having an amazing weekend — tough, but amazing. Can wait to hear about Day 3 and See pictures from the finish line. You are so rockin’ this… Keep Going, girlfriend!

  5. Frantic Holly July 25, 2010 at 7:19 AM #

    You definitely get my vote for Energizer Bunny. You’ve done an amazing job the first 2 days and I’m sure you will do great on the third day. Keep Going®

  6. Shawn Ann @ Shawn Ann's World July 25, 2010 at 8:12 AM #

    You’ve done a great job Caitlin! I can’t believe how fast these three days are going by. The finish line is just a few hours away. Just Keep Going® and be safe!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Giveaway Winner! « The Komen Experience - July 25, 2010

    […] I also hope you followed along this weekend with my progress as the Boston Susan G. Komen 3-Day for the Cure kicked off! It was a long, exhausting and emotional weekend, and it was also completely amazing and wonderful. I met some really amazing people and am already excited for next year! Or at least I will be once my blisters heal! If you haven’t read them yet, I hope you will, and look out for the Day 3 recap coming soon! Here’s Day 1 and Day 2. […]

Leave a Reply

