The Countdown Begins!

13 Jul

The countdown really began the day I signed up for the 3-Day for the Cure® but now that we’re down to 10 DAYS it’s much easier to keep track of! Only 10 days until the 3-Day for the Cure season kicks off, and it’s all starting in Boston! This is the time when everything starts to come together, and all of the training and fundraising feels like it’s paying off. When you’re fundraising months and months in advance, it feels like you have SO MUCH TIME to get everything done, and you’re telling people that you’re walking in July which feels like an eternity away. Now it’s July and the walk starts in 10 days. It’s reality.

My memories of last year’s walk keep flooding back as I’m thinking about packing my overnight bag, as I’m packing and re-packing my hip bag that I’ll take on the walk with me, as I’m contemplating how many pairs of socks to bring (not this year! No socks with my Vibrams), and running last minute errands to make sure I have everything. If you’re starting to think about packing, make sure you read The Underground Guide to the Breast Cancer Walks. It saved my life last year in telling me the do’s and don’t’s of packing. Seriously, read it.

To all of my Boston friends, I hope you’ll come to cheer on not only me, but the other walkers who have taken on this challenge as well! There are designated cheering stations throughout the walk, and I hope you’ll take the time to hang out at one or two sometime during the weekend:

Friday, July 23:

8:30 a.m. – 11:30 a.m.
St. Paul’s Church
502 Washington St.
Wellesley, MA 02482

12:30 p.m. – 6:15 p.m.
Yolanda’s parking lot
355 SR-60 Waverly Oaks Rd.
Waltham, MA 02452

Saturday, July 24:

7:30 a.m. – 10:45 a.m.
Robins Farm Park
51 Eastern Ave.
Arlington, MA 02476

9:45 a.m. – 2:00 p.m.
YMCA-Greater Boston Area:
North Suburban Family Branch
138 Lexington St.
Woburn, MA 01801

11:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.
Parker Field Playground
81 Worthen Rd.
Lexington, MA 02420

Sunday, July 25:

7:30 a.m. – 10:15 a.m.
Shaw’s Supermarket
699 Mount Auburn St.
Cambridge, MA 02138

8:15 a.m. – 10:45 a.m.
Cambridge City Hall
795 Massachusetts Avenue
Cambridge, MA 02139

9:15 a.m. – 1:00 p.m.
Boston Public Garden
(between Paul Revere and Swan Boats)
Commonwealth & Arlington Street
Boston, MA 02127

And for all of those walking the Boston 3-Day for the Cure… I CAN’T WAIT TO MEET YOU! One of the absolute best parts of the walk is just meeting all of the other walkers!! Everyone comes for a different reason; whether it’s to support a loved one, remember someone they’ve lost, support the cause or just to get themselves in better shape, everyone has a great story to tell. So Boston walkers, keep in mind that if you talk to me, you just may end up in my blog!

My advice to all walkers; enjoy every second. Enjoy the soreness, the tired, the pain. Enjoy meeting everyone, make an effort to talk to a lot of people, walk with different groups. Enjoy the port-a-potties (it’s better than a bush!), the shower trucks, the dining tent. Thank every crew member you meet, everyone who serves you breakfast, lunch and dinner and thank the other walkers around you. The words “thank you” were one of my biggest motivators last year. Every time someone said it to me it propelled me further.

10 days!

One Response to “The Countdown Begins!”

  1. mom2thadd July 19, 2010 at 12:22 PM #

    WOW! Not much longer before your event! Thanks for the link about packing, I’m going to a packing workshop tonight and can’t wait to hear the do’s and don’ts andwhat to and not to bring.

Leave a Reply

