Update: Vibram Training

3 Jul

My training lately has been a bit sporadic, I’m finding it difficult to find the time! I recently gave notice at my job so it’s been busy days trying to leave things as organized as possible for the next person. But I managed a 5 mile training walk last week in the Vibrams, my longest walk yet in them.

During the walk I had all of the usual soreness that I’ve had during any other training walk including a bit of soreness on the bottom of my feet, which I can’t say is surprising. I got my two blisters EVER from training on my left foot, both right in the space between the pad of my foot and my toes. Because of the toe separation in the Vibrams I expect there was a bit of extra chafing going on. It all makes my feet stronger and more ready for the walk! They do make socks for Vibrams, which I thought would help at first, but after thinking about it more I think it would actually make it worse because I don’t think they’re wicking socks. (If you walk in sneakers, I HIGHLY recommend wicking socks. I believe they were a big part of why I didn’t get even one blister last year.) So I’ll tough it out sockless and just let my feet toughen up naturally!

Paul and I at the end of the 2009 3-Day for the Cure!

The wonderful part about this walk was that my knees didn’t hurt one bit! My biggest problem during last year’s walk was the strain I put on my knees. By day 3, Paul (my boyfriend and walking partner) had to pull me along for most of it. I found this video (thanks to @Vibram5Fingers on Twitter!) that explains why my knees don’t hurt in the Vibrams, and while it talks about running in Vibrams the same goes for walking! When wearing Vibrams you naturally run and walk differently than you do in sneakers, with a fore foot strike rather than a heel strike.

So hopefully I’ll be able to train more in the next 20 days before the Boston 3-Day for the Cure.. EEK!!! 20 days!! Just gotta remind myself, Keep Going!!

4 Responses to “Update: Vibram Training”

  1. Rhea July 3, 2010 at 6:10 PM #

    I’m contemplating getting a pair of these. I so love to be barefoot and hate sneakers. I’m sorry you got blisters. I’ve been pretty proud of the ones I’ve gotten. So silly. 🙂

    • ctinct July 6, 2010 at 11:36 AM #

      As you should be proud! They’re battle scars! 🙂

  2. Kristen July 4, 2010 at 6:11 PM #

    My husband is thinking about getting a pair as well. Thanks for the update!

    ~ Kristen

    • ctinct July 6, 2010 at 11:37 AM #

      I highly recommend them! Just make sure if he does, that he trains REALLY slowly. Slower than he might think is necessary, like starting out walking a hundred feet or so and working his way up from there. Otherwise, ouch!!

Leave a Reply

