First Race in Vibrams… Check

5 Jun

Today was the 2010 Komen Connecticut Race for the Cure. I’ve been looking forward to it for pretty much an entire year, since last year’s race. I volunteered for my first Race in 2009 and was hooked. This year I ran in the 5k which was great; allowed me to combine a new favorite thing of mine (running) with a favorite, favorite thing of mine (Komen). Not only was this race awesome because it was a Komen race, but because it was my first race in my Vibrams! I’ve had them for about a month and have been taking short runs and longer walks in them but today was my first actual race. So here’s how it went: I ran the first mile in 8 minutes, that’s a record for me in a huge way. I’m usually a 10 minute miler and was shocked to cross mile 1 at 8 minutes. I’ve thought about it and decided there are probably a couple of reasons that I ran it so quickly; probably didn’t hurt that I started at the front of the pack rather than at the back of it like usual, and I also just think it felt good to run in the Vibrams! I felt lighter and more balanced. After mile one, however, there was a hill. My calves were already burning from my new running style and the hill didn’t help much with that. The last two miles were pretty painful in the really good, burning, sore, muscle building kind of way. And other than my calves, everything else felt great. My feet didn’t hurt (though that might change tomorrow) and my knees didn’t hurt at all, which I was waiting for the whole time, especially on the downhill. I’m excited to continue my running and my 3-day training in the Vibrams.

I got a lot of questions and comments about my Vibrams from people who had seen them before and wanted to know what they were like. I did see two other Vibram runners after the race and stopped to chat with them about their experiences and see if they had any tips. I was told that to help build up calf strength to do some short sprints interspersed with longer runs, and that seems to make sense.

So overall it was a really good run! It didn’t hurt to have the amazing energy from the other runners and the spectators. We were all there for an amazing cause and that kind of good energy helps to push you along. There were 2117 runners and I came in 1491 with a time of 36:46.

Komen Connecticut is still fund raising to reach their 2010 Race for the Cure goal, please feel free to donate to this amazing cause!

3 Responses to “First Race in Vibrams… Check”

  1. Brent Feldman June 9, 2010 at 3:56 PM #

    I saw that you wore Vibrams, and yes, the advice to build calf strength is a good one. It will come naturally after a while though. I have been running in them for about 8 months now and I love them. GOOD LUCK!

    • ctinct June 9, 2010 at 4:30 PM #

      Thanks for the encouragement Brent! I’m going to stick with it!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention First Race in Vibrams… Check « The Komen Experience -- Topsy.com - June 5, 2010

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Caitlin Thayer, Stefan Schneider. Stefan Schneider said: RT @CTinCT: My first race in Vibrams… done! http://ow.ly/1Uxb0 #Connecticut #barefootrunning #barefoot @Vibram5Fingers […]

Leave a Reply

