The First Walk!

20 May

Paul and I took our dog Lily (over there on the right, isn’t she pretty?) for a walk tonight, like we always do, but this time I went in my Vibram Five Fingers. I’ve ben slowly testing them out this week so tonight was my first substantial walk in them. We walked just under a mile and my feet felt great during! There were some places on my feet I could feel twinging a little bit as they were getting used to not having any support so I made sure to stretch them out when I got home. I’m preparing for them to ache a bit tomorrow, but excited to build up the muscles!

I can honestly say that walking in the Five Fingers makes me a feel a little lighter… no more heavy pounding of the sneakers. I felt it the most as we were walking down this steep little hill near our house. Usually I have to take my time and go slow because I’ll feel a little pain in my knee walking downhill (if it’s a big hill I have to walk backwards!) but this time there was nothing! No pain and I could walk normally the whole way down without a problem.

So my goal for the next few weeks is to be walking and doing some very, very light jogging in them. Hopefully by mid-June I’ll try jogging a mile or so and see how it feels!

My other goal is to make sure I’m posting on Daily Mile! I always forget to post when I get home but it’s such an easy way to keep track of my training. Is anyone else on Daily Mile? If so, let’s be friends!

One Response to “The First Walk!”

  1. ctinct May 21, 2010 at 6:18 AM #

    It’s the morning after and my feet feel great! No soreness, no achy spots. Might be a few days before the next walk/jog but I’m looking forward to it! I’ll be in Boston for the Red Sox Run to Home Base 9k on Sunday, but I’ll be wearing regular sneakers for that.

Leave a Reply

