Susan G. Komen for the Cure as a Brand

10 May

If you’re like me, you’re more apt to buy a product if a portion of the proceeds benefits Komen. I know that if I’m looking for tissues, and I see the Komen logo on the box, I’m going to buy that box of Tissues. It doesn’t matter what brand it is or if they’re not the softest, I’m buying them. I laughed at myself the other day as I was in the store in the toilet paper aisle and I was looking for the brand I always buy, but was sidetracked when I saw Komen. I immediately dropped any idea that I would buy any other brand and picked up the one that benefits Komen. Now, I know this about myself, but I hadn’t really admitted to myself that I do this. So I had to laugh as grabbed the toilet paper of the shelf, feeling good about myself for buying it for Komen. If Komen started producing their own products rather than working with existing products, you know my house would be filled with Komen everything.

Does this happen to anyone else? I mean, I’ve bought flashlights, hair ties, pens, pencils, notebooks, paper, binders, Sharpies… all because of Komen. I’m not the only one, right?

Leave a Reply

