Time for Training?

1 May

With just less than 3 months until the Boston 3-day kicks off I know I need to get more serious about my training. For the past month I’ve been walking almost every day, 2 or 3 miles. I don’t know about you, but around this time of year my job gets absolutely crazy. I work in a museum where a lot of school kids visit and for at least 3 days a week I find myself on my feet for 6-8 hours. And not just on my feet, but giving hour-long tours, running around making sure everything is running smoothly, and generally exhausting myself. I find that by the time I get in my car at 5:30pm all I’m thinking about is going home and becoming better friends with my couch and TV. The little voice in the back of my head tells me to fight through it, go on a walk and I’ll feel better afterwards but my legs tell me something entirely different. So how does one find the time to do some serious training for the 3-day? It seems so easy to put it off because 3 months seems like a long time, but seeing as today is May 1st and yesterday felt like April was just beginning I know 3 months will fly by and the 3-day will be here.

So I’ve come up with a few ideas for myself on how to stay motivated and I thought I’d share them with all of you.

1) I have a pedometer at home that I’m going to start bringing to work. I know that I walk around a lot at work between giving tours and greeting groups so I’m going to track it. At the end of the day when I see that all of my work has added up to significant steps I think my excitement of this knowledge will pick me up a little and I’ll feel more inclined to take a real walk when I get home.

2) Having just moved into a new neighborhood I’ve been really excited to do some exploring. It’s an old neighborhood with some really gorgeous houses and it’s been fun to check it out on the short walks I’ve taken. I’m going to try and pre-plan my route for upcoming walks so I can be sure to explore the whole neighborhood! I’ve found that the distraction of seeing new places and having something interesting to look at is a great way to get through those extra few miles. Try driving to a new neighborhood to walk in. Look it up on Google Maps beforehand and plan your route and check out something new!

3) One of my biggest excuses for not walking is because I have errands to do. Go to the library, bank, post office… whatever it happens to be. I’m fortunate to have moved into a neighborhood where if I drive a short way, I can park and then walk to do all of my errands. I park somewhere in the middle and then I can walk to the post office, pass by my car on the way to the library, pass by my car again to drop off the books and pick up what I need on the way to the bank. I keep my water bottle in the car so as I pass by I can stop and grab a drink and then continue on! If you live near a downtown area think about how you could incorporate your errands into parking somewhere and then walking to do all of them.

Now I know that doing these things aren’t a substitute for doing a nice 15 mile training walk but they’re a great start! Build up to longer walks, and plan a whole day for your long walks. Bring friends! The hardest part of training is just starting. Just keep thinking about how great you’ll feel at the end of each day during the 3-day because of your training, and because of the amazing cause you’re walking for. Training is nothing compared to those going through chemo and living with breast cancer. If they can do that, I can most certainly do this.

Leave a Reply

